Apologies are in order, I do think. I have not blogged in what feels like a million years. I could blame it on finals, applications, the holidays, etc. But truth be told, I haven’t blogged in so long because I haven’t felt INSPIRED. It got me through my apps and my finals…no need for an extra dose of enthusiasm there. So in all reality, I could have returned much sooner. For some reason, I have felt stuck between the life I am soon to be leaving (high school, living at home, always a bigger bed to crawl into) and the world I am soon to be entering (college, the real world, freedom). I didn’t have enough roots in either of these worlds to keep me motivated (see, hearing impaired people feel the same feelings regular people do)!

Then, I received my first college acceptance. Things started to make a little bit more sense: instead of a giant gray question mark that would pop up whenever I thought of the future, I have a more concrete grasp of what lies ahead for me. In turn, knowing that the future IS in fact going to come, it has helped me appreciate the life I will lead for the next eight months before college starts.

SO, as a result friends, I am jumping right back into that pool of inspiration. It starts with picking up a hobby. I’ve decided to return to art classes at the studio where I took lessons when I was younger. Though I was a decent oil painter, the satisfied feeling of completing a painting would make me feel like Van Gogh, Da Vinci, Michaelangelo, Massacio….oh wait sorry, I am taking art history this year and I may be getting carried away with the painters’ names. Incidentally, art history has further inspired me to pick up my brush, pop open the can of acetone, and get back into it. If I think about it in terms of a hearing impaired person, art classes are a hearing impaired girl’s best friend. No need to tape down my cochlear, put in a mold, and clip my cochlear down here! (I may or may not be breathing a sigh of relief. I love dancing, but oh man, is it a lot of work)!

I am also looking into taking more yoga classes. I was dragged into one class at the local beach club and it was amazing. Lots of stretching and loosening up of the body (perfect for a dancer)! Yoga actually is pretty easy on the hearing aids, except for one thing. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but yoga teachers tend to talk softly. So, I have to turn my head so I can read the teacher’s lips. If I am on the right side of the teacher, I have to turn my head to the left, and I end up resting the weight of my heavy head on my hard, bulky, uncomfy cochlear. OUCH. Note to self: remain on teacher’s left side.

Anyways, I think that is it for now. I promise I won’t be gone long. There’s no excuse this time, it is second semester of senior year!

P.S. what is up with the weather?!

Leave a Reply

